My MAKIE arrived :)

Yes, I am an adult. Yes, I just spent a certain amount of money on a doll. But hear me out! This is not just any doll. This is a Makie. Meet my Makie, Zirella.

first full look

A Makie is a 3D-printed doll! At their website makie.me you can actually customize your very own doll’s face. (It is quite fun to play with the editor even without ordering πŸ˜‰ You can even name your Makie later when clicking on their profile).

Alas, you know me, I love dolls, and getting my very own, quite unique doll, AND 3D-printed to boot? (yes, I am fascinated with that, too) – I was sold (i.e. the doll was).Β  (Have some picture heavy “review” thingie under the cut)

Now, as opposed to the “desktop 3D printers”, which use FDM (fused deposition modelling process; these printers layer with plastic filament), the Makies are manufactured using a technology called SLS (selectvie laser sintering), in which a laser fuses together particles of nylon powder to form the individual parts. The process can produce items with very high fidelity and strength, compared with the more common fused deposition modelling process (FDM) (information taken from here, very interesting article!).

As for customer support, the Makie crew are absolutely LOVELY! I often catch myself thinking about writing them just to chat, but I do not want to be a burden πŸ˜‰ For every small question, they are really nice and fast, even if you find out later that your question has already been answered in the forum, they do not grumpily point that out but send you your own individual email πŸ˜‰

However, some small pointers I got from other people who ordered: If you do not want your wig glued on, please let them know! (Thanks again for the wig cap, btw πŸ™‚ ). The Makies come with a coloured pencil makeup by default (which can be washed away, but maybe not completely). If you plan on customizing, you can always ask them to leave to leave you Makie’s face clear!

Your Makie will arrive with one set of clothing (currently no shoes) and one wig you chose during the customizing process. I also ordered one additional wig, the full set of eye colours, and another legging).

EXPRESS box box open Packaging did add quite an amount to the overall price, but shipment was crazy fast and the doll packaged very vell so it could not take any damage during shipping.

 

debox

First look at my new Makie! At first I thought she looked too angry, but her face grew on me very fast

schau mir in die augen

also ordered the full set of eyes, but currently have no idea how to exchange the eyes ^^” The eyes have a “cheap” plastic feel to them, but look gorgeous and detailed and are not too heavy for the head (halfround)

tiny ears head right

some small minus points for the very prominent print lines on her forehead >_<

full frontal nudity tiny ears head left

Further selling point, at least for me, are the articulated joints. While the Makie does not reach the dexterity of a Monster High doll, it is sturdier and even can stand on its own! The joints are a bit harder to move when you are used to MH dolls, but the Makie then holds its position very well. If MH dolls are the “poor man’s BJD” (ball jointed doll), the Makie is another (ifΒ  pricier) step in that direction. They resemble the Hujoo dolls quite a bit, but are not stringed as you average BJD, therefore also suitable for children. The head, hands, and feet pop off easily, which makes dressing them quite easy. As opposed to the MH dolls, the Makies do not have circular motion range in their elbows and knee joints, though.

The Makie is quite light and, being 3D printed, has a certain “wood grain” feeling to it, which personally I love and which is the reason why I ordered the “caramel” skin tone -> pretend wooden doll πŸ™‚ (However, take care when dressing in finer fabrics or some types of yarn… it catches easily on the “skin”)

welcome presents

Well, knitter that I am, I already prepared some “Welcome Home” presents for my “little girl”.

Of course, knitting for a doll you do not have around to measure your knitting on has its risks…

cozy browntoo long socks too long colours cozy blue

One jumper too large (the brown one), socks a tad too long (but I simply love the pattern and can knit new ones fast; they even have a little heel πŸ™‚ ), sweater dress not too large but too long – but at least the jacket fits and you can never go wrong with a scarf…

too wide brown

ordered another wig and still have problems to wrangle it onto the head ^^”

As you might have noticed, my Zirella does not yet have a faceup, a lovely artist from an MH forum, who also ordered a Makie, will do her faceup soon πŸ™‚ (If she is okay with it, of course I’ll link to her? πŸ˜‰ ). Therefore, expect more pictures with a full face up and of course later more knitted clothes that actually fit…

All in all, buying a Makie is quite the experience. The hefty price tag is to be considered, though. Surely I do not regret ordering her, but I really do not think I would have ordered if I hadn’t been lucky enough to discover the site during a short-term price drop. In the future I hope for more/different colour options (how I mourned to have missed the “Pale Pistaccio” skin tone, green little goblin!), fewer print lines, maybe more emphasized fingers and toes (more emphasized, not more fingers πŸ˜‰ ) and, of course depending on the market, equipment,Β  material etc., some day a lower price range. Still the Makie is well worth it, just think of how many hours the printing process alone takes!

For your very unique, 3D printed doll, easy to customize, the price is justified and is still well under the price of a BJD in the same size range. I really like my Makie, love the community and say kudos! for the very well thought out buying experience, from customizing your doll’s face, to lovely customer support, sturdy packaging and a product that is very individual.

 

I will now browse the forum on how to change the eyes (the process itself is easy, just pop off the head cap and “click” off the bar that holds the eyes, I simply think I am too afraid to destroy anything to use the required force πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “My MAKIE arrived :)

  1. *YAY*

    Zirella is home !! πŸ™‚
    She turned out beautifully πŸ™‚

    Don’t be afraid to use the eye mechanism –
    if you have done it 2,3 times it gets a lot easier.
    Try do pinch one of the pegs , not both at a time ..
    that worked great for me πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to work on your girl πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚

      Great tip, will try tonight at home. I think I handle her with too much care, she is, after all, designed as a toy and therefore quite sturdy ^^”
      I’ll send her out next week, if that is ok πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

