New Year, new dolls ;)

Weeelllll so not buying many more dolls will be one of my resolutions (however, those I will buy will be more expensive ^^”).

Though I still look at my Monster Highs fondly, I do not think I will buy any more of these (at least until I see that 17” girl they will bring out in natura). However, I have to admit that knitting for the Monsters still has the advantage that, given their bodyshape, projects for them are finished much faster than for the larger dolls… Every now and then I will just make a little sweater for them so as to not get frustrated with larger projects. Yes, I am a sucker for instant gratification.

My newest acquisitions lead me dangerously close to the BJD realm: a Hujoo Freyr and an Obitsu 40cm with an Ai-chan head 🙂

Yes, the Freyr will get a faceup some time soon.

Yes, I did fall so in love with the large Obitsu that I am already planning how to get enough money together to get one of the larger bodies with about at least three heads ^^” (the heads are quite cheap, the bodies are the priciest items on these dolls). However, compared to their stringed resin cousins, they still are quite reasonable priced. While personally, I like the anime aethestics and will get the anime heads, Obitsu also offers some lovely “realistic” sculpts. Their “anime” heads plus the 50cm bodies get really close to the Dollfie Dream aesthetics 😉

Though this little gem was purchased from a lovely collector from a forum, my “dealer” of choice for all things Obitsu is the parabox. Yes, they ship from Japan, so you have to be careful about postage and customs, but compared to most other sources *cough* evilbay *cough*, their prices are okay. If, however, you are inside the US, you might rather want to look towards the junkyspot 😉 )

In my opinion, the great poseability and the easy handling make the Obitsu dolls much more desirable for me than the stringed dolls. For example, though I would not part with my little little Hujoo Freyr, which I already named Loki ;), the stringed dolls really are a bit problematic for me. The Hujoo, though made form ABS plastic, is stringed, and already this small 1/6 scale doll holds a tension high enough to make it hard to impossible for me to e.g. take his head off and put it on again alone. (I have some problems with my hands/wrists, and pulling against tension is sth. that is quite hard for me to pull off.).

The large scale Obitsu dolls come with a magnetic stand, which is basically a metal plate you put the doll on, which has magnets in their feet and can stand all on its own! (The Hujoo, too, can stand on its own, resulting from its good stringing.) Poseability is great in both dolls!

The little sweater for the Hujoo is our standard raglan sweater with 4×8 st in circumference plus 4×8 (2x [2×8]) for the sleeves (64 st total) on 2.5 mm needles with fingering yarn. For the trousers and hat I might post a pattern soon, but I am not totally sure anymore what I did exactly with the hat ^^” I can tell that it is 48st in circumference.

The Obitsu’s sweater is 4×12 st in circumference plus 4×12 for the sleeves (for sleeves then pick up 4 stitches under arm when knitting them) on a 2.5 mm needle with fingering yarn. The cabled yoke is knit separately (10 st width, about 27 cm lengths), then swen together as the collar. The working stitches are then picked up from the yoke (I picked up 4×16 and then started with the standard raglan increase).

Leave a Reply

